Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 9, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Skip To Content
Pride Toronto Board Announces New Co-Chair & Committee Chairs

November 14, 2013 Pride Toronto Board Announces New Co-Chair & Committee Chairs

For Immediate Release

Pride Toronto, presenter of WorldPride 2014 Toronto, announces changes to its Board of Directors and Executive Committees. It was confirmed at the first Board meeting of the WorldPride 2014 season held this month that Shelley Craig will join Sean Hillier as the new Co-Chair of Pride Toronto, while Kent Churn will serve as Treasurer and Paul Jonathan Saguil as Secretary.

Pride Toronto is also pleased to welcome Chris Tremeer, Aaron GlynWilliams and Dana Suvagau as new members to the Board following their election at the 2013 Annual General Meeting. Each Director is elected to a term of three years.

The Pride Toronto Board of Directors are responsible for the health, legacy and long term direction of the organization, and overseeing the planning and implementation of WorldPride 2014 Toronto; the world’s largest international LGBTTIQQ2SA festival, and the first WorldPride ever held in North America. WorldPride is produced under license from InterPride.

"Our new Board Members will help enable Pride Toronto to effectively engage our community and our allies to support our goals of reducing discrimination and promoting understanding of Toronto's diverse cultural landscape" says Pride Toronto Co-Chair, Shelley Craig.

To support the mandate of Pride Toronto, standing and ad hoc committees that are comprised of board members, staff, team leads and community members are created to support the Board of Directors. The following are the new Board committees and respective chairs:

  • WorldPride Engagement Committee: Chair, Susan Gapka

  •  Governance Committee: Chair, Paul Jonathan Saguil

  • Human Resources & Compensation Committee: Chair, Shelley Craig, PhD

  • Community Relations Committee: Co-Chairs, Lauryn Kronick & Dana Suvagau

  • Finance & Audit Committee: Chair, Kent Churn

  • Board Recruitment Development Committee: Chair, Kerry Bell

"This is a tremendously important time for Pride Toronto and I'm excited to welcome our new board members, especially as we prepare to host the first WorldPride event to ever be held in North America," says Pride Toronto Co-Chair, Sean Hillier. "Not only is this a wonderful opportunity to highlight how dynamic and diverse Toronto is, but we also get to demonstrate Canada's continued progress in human rights." 


About Pride Toronto and WorldPride 2014 Toronto

Pride Toronto is the not-for-profit organization that hosts the city’s Pride Festival, an annual event in downtown Toronto during the last week of June and one of the premier arts and cultural festivals in Canada. It is also one of the largest Pride celebrations in the world with an estimated attendance of over one million people. It celebrates the history, courage, diversity and future of Toronto's LGBTTIQQ2SA* communities.

WorldPride 2014 Toronto (WP14TO) is an international celebration incorporating activism, education, and the history and culture of global LGBTTIQQ2SA* communities.

WorldPride 2014 Toronto is presented by Pride Toronto, producer of Canada’s largest annual festival of LGBTTIQQ2SA* culture and human rights, under license from InterPride.

*LGBTTIQQ2SA is an abbreviation used to represent a broad array of identities such as, but not limited to, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, transgender, intersex, queer, questioning, two-spirited, and allies.




For more information visit www.pridetoronto.com

Media contacts:
Trevor Hampden,                                          
Communications Manager                             
P  (647) 465-6718                                              
E  Trevor@pridetoronto.com

Become a member
Pride Week 2015
Pride Toronto